DAVID ALBERT-TOTH AND EMILY GUALTIERI

Parts+Labour_Danse

*Lab cancelled due to the pandemic

To view our refund/donation policies, please follow this button:

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into David Albert-Toth and Emily Gualtieri's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

Creation laboratory description:

This lab is a platform for experimentation, discovery, and reaction. By practicing these, we will build something meaningful out of nothing. We will harness simplicity and clarity while working towards an efficient and comprehensive approach to creation. Directed tasks, structured improvisations, and state-based propositions will inform your experience. We will teach material and build specific ideas with you, a process to which you will actively contribute. We encourage you to view this time together as an opportunity to embrace our vision and our methods from the viewpoint of a collaborator. We will generate, you will generate, and we’ll dig together, embracing and using our faults, secrets, and strengths as allies in creation. For those looking to immerse themselves in a voice, there is a place for you here. For those who are looking to channel and develop their own voice, there is a place for you here as well.

 

Creative Process Description

Working as a pair provides us with the unique opportunity to develop the choreographic direction from two different yet complementary artistic perspectives. Genuine human connection, affectivity, and interdependence are recurring themes in our highly physical work. The cerebral and visceral are inextricably linked, pushing us to create physically driven work that explores a deeper perception and embodiment of the performer’s humanity. Our collaborators are encouraged to define what this means for them at all times. Our work ultimately stems from a place of deep sensitivity and wonder, a place into which we want to invite our collaborators and our audience, to allow them to deepen parts of themselves through genuine, unabashed self-reflection.

Biographies:

David Albert-Toth is a dancer, choreographer, composer, and co-artistic director of Parts+Labour_Danse. A disposition towards eclectic artistic encounters has led David to perform throughout North America and Europe. Notable collaborations include work with Frédérick Gravel, Human Playground, Lemieux.Pilon 4D-Art and Peter Trosztmer, Emmanuelle Calvé, and Compagnie Destins Croisés. He has contributed to interdisciplinary works by CHA Collective, Thibaut Duverneix, Dominique Porte, Julie Favreau, Moment Factory, and Danse Danse (with Emily Gualtieri) in collaboration with the work of Olafur Eliasson and the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. He began a choreographic partnership with Emily Gualtieri in 2011, founding Parts+Labour_Danse. Their works include In Mixed Company (2013, Prix Coup de pouce, Vue sur la relève 2015), La chute (2013, Top Ten 2013 – Dance Current, Audience Choice Award, dance:made in canada festival 2015), and La vie attend (2017), co-produced by Danse-Cité and presented at La Chapelle. Parts+Labour_Danse is currently involved in several new creations that will premiere in the near future.

 

Emily Gualtieri is a Dora Award-nominated choreographer and dance artist working in both Montreal and Toronto. Since 2007, her interest in creation and craft has driven her to continually produce and tour new works every season. After several years spent choreographing independently, Emily began a creative partnership with David Albert-Toth, founding Parts+Labour_Danse in 2011. Their 2013 works In Mixed Company and La chute have won various awards. Emily and David’s works have been presented nationally in festivals such as Dance: Made in Canada, Guelph Dance, Expanse Festival, Quartiers Danses, POP Montreal, VSLR, Dance Matters, and St. John Contemporary Dance Festival. Emily has participated in and led artist residencies in Montreal, Toronto, Banff, Halifax, Massachusetts, and Berlin. Emily created À la prochaine (2013), performed by Ginelle Chagnon and commissioned by Older & Reckless, Re:Pairing (2015), a DanceWorks CoWorks production, and Stealing Fire (2016) a commission for Mocean Dance. Emily recently premiered La vie attend (2017) with Parts+Labour_Danse, co-produced by Danse-Cité and presented at La Chapelle, and is currently working on several new creations as a choreographer and dramaturge.

 

 

Website :  https://www.pldanse.com/

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

DAVID ALBERT-TOTH ET EMILY GUALTIERI

Parts+Labour_Danse

*Laboratoire annulé à cause de la pandémie

SVP suivez cette lien pour trouver plus d'infos sur notre politique d'annulation et dons.

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de David Albert-Toth et Emily Gualtieri et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

Description du laboratoire:

Ce laboratoire est une plateforme pour l'expérimentation, la découverte et la réaction. En pratiquant ces principes, nous allons bâtir quelque chose de significatif à partir de rien. Nous allons exploiter la simplicité et la clarté tout en travaillant vers une approche de création efficace et compréhensible. Votre expérience sera dirigée par des tâches précises, des improvisations structurées et des proposition claires. Nous enseignons du matériel définis et nous bâtirons des idées chorégraphiques précises avec vous, un processus auquel vous serez appelés à participer activement. Nous vous encourageons à considérer ce temps ensemble comme étant une opportunité de découvrir notre vision et nos méthodes du point de vue d’un.e collaborateur.ice. Nous allons générer, vous allez générer, et ensemble, en acceptant et en utilisant nos failles, nos secrets, et nos forces tels des alliés, nous allons créer. Pour ceux qui cherchent à s'immerger dans une voix chorégraphique, il y a une place pour vous ici. Et pour ceux qui cherchent à développer leur propre voix, il y a une place pour vous aussi.

 

Processus Créatif

Travailler en tandem nous permet l'opportunité unique de développer une direction chorégraphique à partir de deux perspectives différentes, mais complémentaires. La connection humaine authentique, l'affectivité et l’interdépendance sont des thèmes récurrents dans notre travail. Le cérébral et le viscéral sont intimement liés, nous poussant ainsi à créer un matériau physique qui explore une perception profonde et une incarnation de l'humanité de l’interprète.  Nos collaborateurs sont encouragés à explorer et à définir ce que cela signifie pour eux à tout instant. Ultimement, notre travail est né d'une sensibilité profonde et d'un émerveillement, un espace dans lequel nous désirons inviter nos collaborateurs et notre public afin de se permettre d'approfondir des parties d'eux-mêmes à travers une auto-réflexion authentique et honnête.

Biographies:

 

David Albert-Toth est danseur, chorégraphe, compositeur, et co-directeur artistique de Parts+Labour_Danse. Une disposition envers les collaborations artistiques éclectiques l'amène à performer à travers l’Amérique du Nord et l'Europe ; il collabore avec Frédérick Gravel, Human Playground, Lemieux-Pilon 4D-Art et Peter Trosztmer, Emmanuelle Calvé, et Destins Croisés. Il contribue à des projets pluridisciplinaires avec le collectif CHA, Thibaut Duverneix, Dominique Porte, Julie Favreau, Moment Factory, et Danse Danse (avec Emily Gualtieri) en collaboration avec l’oeuvre de Olafur Eliasson et le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. En 2011, il s'engage à un partenariat avec Emily Gualtieri, avec qui il fond Parts+Labour_Danse. Leurs œuvres incluent In Mixed Company (2013, Prix Coup de pouce, festival Vue sur la relève 2015), La chute (2013, Top Ten 2013 - Dance Current, Prix du public, dance:made in canada 2015), et La vie attend (2017) co-produite par Danse-Cité et présenté à La Chapelle. Parts+Labour_Danse est actuellement sur plusieurs nouvelles créations qui seront diffusées prochainement.

 

Emily Gualtieri est chorégraphe et artiste en danse œuvrant à Montréal et à Toronto. Un intérêt marqué à la création la pousse à présenter de nouvelles œuvres à chaque saison depuis 2007. Après plusieurs années de création indépendante, elle s'engage à un partenariat avec David Albert-Toth, avec qui elle fond Parts+Labour_Danse en 2011. Leurs œuvres de 2013 In Mixed Company et La chute ont remporté plusieurs prix. Leurs œuvres ont été présenté à travers le Canada dans des festivals tels que Dance: Made in Canada, Guelph Dance, Expanse Festival, Quartiers Danses, POP Montreal, VSLR, Dance Matters, and St. John Contemporary Dance Festival. Depuis 2011, Emily a participé et a dirigé des résidences de création à Montréal, Toronto, Banff, Halifax, Massachusetts, and Berlin. Emily signe également À la prochaine (2013), une commande de Older & Reckless interprété par Ginelle Chagnon, Re:Pairing (2015), une production Danceworks CoWorks pour laquelle elle a été nominée pour un prix Dora, et Stealing Fire (2016) une commande de Mocean Dance. Parts+Labour_Danse présente récemment La vie attend (2017), co-produite par Danse-Cité et présenté au théâtre La Chapelle; Emily travaille sur plusieurs projets présentement en tant que chorégraphe ou dramaturge.

Site web : https://www.pldanse.com/

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte