HEIDI STRAUSS

adelheid

*Lab cancelled due to the pandemic

To view our refund/donation policies, please follow this button:

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Heidi Strauss' previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

Creation laboratory description:

Drawing on research for a work currently in development, this lab will explore the multi-dimensionality of the body by playing with different physical extremes and degrees of responsiveness. Using interactive structures as well as improvised group practice we will activate an acute sense of physical listening.  This listening is as much about being sensitive to ourselves in the moment, as it is to the people dance with. Endeavouring to do this removes what can become presentational. We will work without a front, in full 360, where every movement and choice is exposed. In creating, my interest is in connection: connection with ourselves, the relationships we have with each other, with our environment, and the consideration for people looking on. 

Biography:

Heidi Strauss makes work as a way to examine human behavior from different perspectives.  In her work, relationships form a basis to consider our current social and environmental moment.  She often shifts the physical perspective of the audience, creating work for the theatre, outdoors, and site-specifically, as well as for digital platforms. 

 

Heidi is the artistic director of adelheid, and a multi-Dora Award winning choreographer for her works ‘this time’ and ‘what it’s like’.  She has been a resident artist at the Factory Theatre, The Theatre Centre and Harbourfront Centre. Her film collaborations have been screened at dança em foco (Rio de Janiero), nu2’s IDN festival (Barcelona) and d:mic (Toronto).  She has been commissioned by/choreographed for Toronto Dance Theatre, Mocean Dance, The Frankfurt Opera, The Canadian Opera Company, Volcano Theatre, and the Stratford Festival.  Heidi also initiates programs for other artists - currently including adelheid’s re:research, (for emerging dance creators) and Cohort (for performance makers integrating digital technologies into creation).  Heidi is a recipient of the KM Hunter Award for Dance.

Website : www.adelheid.ca

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Heidi Strauss et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

HEIDI STRAUSS

adelheid

 

 

Laboratoire de création

25 au 29 mai | 14h15 à 18h15 (20 hrs)  

+20 mai 18:15 à 19h00 Présentation de mi-parcours

Lieu : Édifice Wilder | Studio: École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Tarifs : Membres DAC -165$ | Pro en visite - 188$ | EB - 212$ | Standard - 235$

*Ce stage est remboursable (40% du coût total) par le biais du Programme de soutien à l'entraînement du RQD pour les interprètes membres du RQD admissibles au programme.

Description du laboratoire:

Inspiré de la recherche d’une création actuellement en développement, ce laboratoire explorera diverses dimensions du corps en jouant avec différents extrêmes physiques et degrés de réponse. En utilisant une structure interactive ainsi que de l’improvisation en groupe, nous activerons un sens aigu de l’écoute corporelle. Cette écoute concerne autant l’écoute de nous-même dans le moment, que d’être sensible à ceux avec qui nous dansons. En s’y efforçant, nous enlevons ce qui devient exclusivement représentatif. Nous travaillerons à 360 degrés, sans devant, où chaque mouvement et choix sont exposés. Mon intérêt en créant, est dans la connexion: la connexion avec nous-mêmes, la relation avec les autres, avec notre environnement, et la considération des personnes qui sont témoin de notre danse.

Biographie:

 

Heidi Strauss crée des pièces pour examiner le comportement humain par de nouvelles perspectives. Dans son travail, les relations forment une base pour considérer notre moment social et environnemental actuels. Elle diversifie les perspectives physique des spectateurs, créant des oeuvres pour des théâtres, à l’extérieur et sur des sites spécifiques, ainsi que sur des plateformes numériques. 

 

Heidi est la directrice artistique de adelheid, et chorégraphe récipiendaire du prix multi-Dora pour ses oeuvres This time et What it’s like. Elle a été artiste résidente du Factory Theatre, The Theatre Centre et Harbourfront Centre. Les films dans lesquels elle a collaboré, ont été présenté à dança em foco (Rio de Janeiro), nu2’s IDN festival (Barcelone) et à d:mic (Toronto). Elle a chorégraphié pour Toronto Dance Theater, Mocean Dance, The Frankfurt Opera, The Canadian Opera Company, Volcano Theatre, et le Stratford Festival. Heidi initie également des programmes pour d’autres artistes - présentement re:research (pour chorégraphes émergents) et Cohort (pour créateurs qui intègrent les technologies numériques à leurs créations). Heidi est récipiendaire du prix KM Hunter Award for Dance. 

 

Site web : www.adelheid.ca

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte