MANUEL ROQUE

Cie Manuel Roque

 

*Workshop cancelled due to the pandemic

To view our refund/donation policies, please follow this button:

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Manuel Roque's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this workshop.

Workshop description:

Workshop

The workshop focuses on kinesthetic exploration as well as the awareness of one's self, the group and the environment.  Through improvisation exercises and set material, the dancer is brought to question the notions of physical experiences, sharing and state of grace in order to create meeting points between virtuosity and somatic awareness, with the aim of infinitely renewing the pleasure of dancing.

Biography:

In parallel to an exalting and motley career as a performer (Cie Marie Chouinard, Dominique Porte, Peter James, Sylvain Émard, Paul André Fortier …), Manu briefly wore the choreographer’s hat (Brendon et Brenda, 2002; Ô mon bateau, 2004) before creating and performing RAW-me (2010), a solo which received many awards from Festival Vue sur la Relève  and OFFTA, followed by “Ne meurs pas tout de suite, on nous regarde”, a duet of a more “Danse-Theater” flavor, created and performed with Lucie Vigneault.

He founded Cie Manuel Roque in 2013 and created the project “In Situ” for Place-des-Arts de Montréal’s public space in 2014.  His solo Data (2014) explores the mutation of matter and was presented at Usine C, then at the June Event Festival (Paris) for the 2015 FTA and again in an international tour.  In addition to his participation in the European project Migrant Bodies where he created Matière Noire, Manu choreographed Aurora for the EDCM graduates, then 4-OR which was presented by Tangente and Parcours Danse in December 2015 in Montreal.  His latest creation, a solo entitled Bang bang, emerged in the city of Lyon in April 2017, then at the Montreal 2017 FTA and won the Oeuvre chorégraphic 2017 Award from Prix de la Danse de Montréal.

His creative universe explores the mixing of contemporary languages and puts into dance a kinesthetic virtuosity combined with a polymorphic questioning of the contemporary human condition.

Website:  www.manuelroque.com

 

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

MANUEL ROQUE

Cie Manuel Roque

*Atelier annulé à cause de la pandémie

SVP suivez cette lien pour trouver plus d'infos sur notre politique d'annulation et dons.

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Manuel Roque et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans cet atelier.

Description d'atelier:

Atelier

 

L’atelier porte sur l’exploration et l’écoute kinesthésique de soi de l’autre et du groupe et de l’environnement. Par le biais d’exercice d’improvisation et de matériel écrit , le danseur est amené a questionner les notions d’expérience physique, de partage, d’état de grâce afin de créer des points de rencontre entre virtuosité et attention somatique, dans le but de renouveler à l'infini le plaisir de danser. 

Biographie:

Parallèlement à une carrière d’interprète exaltante et hétéroclite ( Cie Marie Chouinard, Dominique Porte, Peter James, Sylvain Emard, Paul André Fortier …), Manu se fait chorégraphe de courtes formes (Brendon et Brenda, 2002; Ô mon bateau, 2004) avant de créer et danser RAW- me (2010), solo qui recevra de nombreux prix au festival Vue sur la Relève et au OFFTA. Suivra le duo “Ne meurs pas tout de suite, on nous regarde” créé et interprété avec Lucie Vigneault, de facture plus “Danse-Théâtre” .

 

Il fonde la Cie Manuel Roque en 2013 et crée le projet In Situ pour l’espace public de la Place des Arts de Montréal en janvier 2014. Le solo Data (2014), s’intéresse à la mutation de la matière et sera diffusé l’Usine C, puis repris au FTA 2015 au June Event Festival (Paris) et en tournée internationale. En plus de sa participation au projet européen Migrant Bodies ou il crée Matière Noire, Manu chorégraphie Aurora pour les finissants de l’EDCMTL puis 4-OR qui est présenté à Montréal en décembre 2015 par Tangente et Parcours Danse. Sa dernière création, le solo bang bang, voit le jour à Lyon en Avril 2017, puis au FTA 2017 et remporte le prix de l’Oeuvre chorégraphique 2017 des prix de la Danse de Montréal.  

Son univers créatif s’intéresse au métissage des langages contemporains et met en danse une virtuosité kinesthésique jumelée à un questionnement polymorphe sur la condition humaine contemporaine. 

Site web: www.manuelroque.com

Manuel Roque © Manuel Roque

Manuel Roque © Manuel Roque

Manuel Roque _ Bang Bang © Marilène Bast

Bang Bang © Marilène Bast

Data © Marilène Bastien

Data © Marilène Bastien

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte