Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Peter Jasko's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

PETER JASKO

Deep movement consciousness

May 28 and May 29 | 6:15 to 8:15pm

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

Rate (per day) : DAC pro - $20 | Visiting pro - $25 | Standard - $30 (taxes not included)

Workshop description:

Deep Movement Consciousness

 

The workshop is more of a creativity class than a dance class. Because of its nature, it is an open level class for professional dancers and movers alike. Rather than teaching form, the class focuses on expanding one’s artistic self-awareness. The class begins with exploring qualities such as rebound, flow, fractions, and shaking to reach a state beyond self-judgment and self-limitations. Here we will work within the gap between power and fragility. After waking up the body and mind, we will focus on isolations and polyrhythmic exercises to root back our focus. We will move with the intention of never going back, developing one’s fearlessness and ability to trust each instant’s potential to lead somewhere. We will give ourselves the necessary time to tune into our body’s intuitive intelligence to solve movement paradoxes that emerge during the research process. We will facilitate each other’s exploration by working in pairs and in groups, as well as individually.

 

These simple open structures are simultaneously technical tools and tools for composition. We encourage the dancer to playfully explore their inner workings and personal language that result both from everyday lived experience and learned movement patterns. By opening up creative curiosity, we enhance our movement fluency. In turn, we will develop strategies to explore the space between continuity and disruption of movement ideas by naming patterns for those interested in building choreography.

Biography:

 

Peter Jasko was born in 1982 in Liptovsky Mikulas, Slovakia. He took his first dance classes with the  folk dance company Dumbier Slovakia, where he remained for eleven years. From 1996 to 2001,  Peter studied at the J. L. Bella Conservatory of Dance in Banska Bystrica , Slovakia. He  continued  his  training at the Academy of Music and Dramatic Arts in Bratislava before entering the P.A.R.T.S. School   for Contemporary Dance in Brussels (2002), directed by Anna Teresa de Keersmaeker.  

His professional experience includes dancing with such international artists and companies as  Opera Banska Bystrica, ASpO, Company Roberto Olivan, OXOXOX – Juri Konjar, G. Barberio Corsetti &  Fatou Traore, and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Since 2001, he has also collaborated with David Zambrano  as both a performer and as assistant in his classes and workshops.

 

Peter Jasko is the co-founder of Les SlovaKs Dance Collective, whose productions include Opening Night (2007), Journey Home  (2009),  The Koncert (2010), and Fragments (2012).

In 2014, he directed the Svalbard Company’s All Genius All Idiot. The following year, Peter Jasko created Untied Tales (The Vanished Power of the Usual Reign)  in collaboration with Clara Furey, which premiered at La Chapelle in Montreal.

​The same year Peter Jasko created performance for 300 seniors as a part of cultural city of Europe, Plzen 2015. For the past twelve years, he has taught in some forty-six countries around the world.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Peter Jasko et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

PETER JASKO

Conscientiser le mouvement profond

28 mai ou 29 mai | 18h15 à 20h15

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

Tarif (par jour) : Pro DAC - 20$ | Pro - 25$ | Standard - 30$ (taxes non-incluses)

Description de l'atelier:

Conscientiser le mouvement profond

 

Bien plus qu’une simple classe, cet atelier sera abordé comme un atelier créatif plutôt qu'un cours de danse. De ce fait, il pourra être ouvert à tous les niveaux (autant pour les danseurs professionnels que les amateurs). Plutôt que d'enseigner la forme, l’atelier se concentrera sur l'expansion artistique de la conscience en soi. Il commencera par explorer des qualités de mouvement tels que le rebond, le flot, les fragmentations et les tremblements pour atteindre un état qui dépasse l’auto jugement et les limites que les artistes peuvent s’imposer eux-même. Ici, les interprètes travailleront à l'intérieur des interstices, entre la puissance et la fragilité. Après avoir réveillé le corps et l'esprit, ils seront amenés à se concentrer sur des isolations et des exercices polyrythmiques pour recentrer l’attention. En se déplaçant avec l’intention de ne jamais revenir en arrière, ils développeront ainsi leur intrépidité et leur capacité à faire confiance que chaque instant pourrait, potentiellement, les amener quelque part. Du temps sera alloué aux danseurs pour que ces derniers puissent s’accorder à l'intelligence intuitive de leur corps afin de résoudre les paradoxes du mouvement qui émergent au cours du processus de recherche. Ils se faciliteront mutuellement l'exploration en travaillant par paires, individuellements et en groupes.


Ces structures simples et ouvertes sont à la fois des outils techniques ainsi que des outils de composition. Dans un environnement ludique, le danseur sera encouragé à explorer ses fonctionnements internes et son langage personnel résultant à la fois des expériences vécues au quotidien et des modèles de mouvements assimilés durant leur parcours. En ouvrant leur curiosité créative, leur fluidité du mouvement s’en trouvera grandie. En temps et lieu, Peter et les artistes développeront des stratégies pour explorer l'espace, entre la continuité et les interruptions des idées de mouvement, tout en nommant les motifs clairs pour ceux qui s'intéressent particulièrement à la construction chorégraphique.

Biographie:

Peter Jasko est né en 1982 à Liptovsky Mikulas, en Slovaquie. Il prit ses premiers cours de danse avec la compagnie de danse folklorique Dumbier Slovakia pour ensuite étudier et graduer du Conservatoire J.L. Bella de danse, Banska Bystrica (en Slovaquie). Il a poursuivi ses études supérieures à l'école internationale de danse P.A.R.T.S. (2002), dirigée par Anna Teresa de Keersmaeker. 

 

L’éventail de son expérience professionnelle en danse s’étend sur différents artistes et compagnies internationaux telles que Opera Banska Bystrica, ASpO, Company Roberto Olivan, OXOXOX – Juri Konjar, Zuzana Hajkova, Barberio Corsetti & Fatou Traore et Company Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (pour la création de Myth en 2007). Depuis 2001, il a collaboré avec David Zambrano en tant qu’interprète et assistant durant ses classes et ateliers.

 

De surcroît, Peter Jasko est co-fondateur de Les SlovaKs Dance Collective. A leur actif, la compagnie compte plusieurs création : Opening Night (2007), Journey Home (2009), The Koncert (2010), et Fragments (2012).

 

En 2014, il a dirigé the Svalbard Company’s All Genius All Idiot. L’année suivante, il créa Untied Tales (the vanished power of the usual reign) en collaboration avec Clara Furey qui fût présentée en avant-première au théâtre de La Chapelle à Montréal.

Cette même année, Peter orchestra une performance pour 300 aînés dans le cadre de cultural city of Europe, Plzen 2015. Durant les 12 dernières années, il a partagé son savoir dans 46 pays à travers le monde.

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte