LUKE MURPHY

Attic Projects

 

Moving Wild

May 25 - 29 | 10:00am to 1:30 p.m. (17.5 hours)

Place: Édifice Wilder | Studio: École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

​Rate: ​DAC members - $165 | Visiting professionals - $188 | EB - $212 | Standard - $235

*This workshop is reimbursable (40% of the total cost) through the RQD Dancer Training Support Program for admissible RQD members.

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Luke Murphy's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this workshop.

Workshop description:

Moving Wild

Moving for purpose, moving for function, moving for desire, moving for survival. In this workshop we will first build tools to access the widest sphere of our physical reach in space and apply them to various purposes. Does movement change with purpose or is it just our experience that changes? Harnessing the potential inside forces of gravity, coil, momentum and drifting we will find efficiency of effort in our muscularity and build complex sequences to trick our balance and disorientate our expectations. After establishing our broadest physical availability we will challenge ourselves to apply our skills both new and old in unfamiliar physical, emotional and psychological directions. Using adaptations of Stanislavski systems to confront physical and emotional states we will examine the relationship between movement, purpose and meaning for both the performer and audience. 

Embracing the creative process as a chaotic, vulnerable, fragile, violent, exciting, intimate and volatile experience over the course of the workshop we will interrogate the fundamental conflicts of the theatre space:

 

  • Friction between the performer and the content.

  • Contradiction between the awareness of moving in space and the internalization needed to realise a character. 

  • Conflict of sound, action and imagery. 

  • Hostility between the controlled atmosphere of the theatre and the unbridled chaos of human nature.   

 

The outcome might not be the objective but where we look at conflict we might find resolution.

Biography:

​Originally from Cork City, Luke is a performer and choreographer based between Cork, New York and Brussels. 

 

Luke has danced with Ultima Vez from 2014-2018 touring internationally in productions of In Spite of Wishing and Wanting, Booty Looting and Spiritual Unity and Punchdrunk since 2009, performing leading roles in the original casts of Sleep No More in Shanghai (‘16-‘18), New York City (’11-‘15) as well as in productions The Drowned Man in London and Sleep No More in Boston. In addition he has danced in the companies of Martha Clarke, Kate Weare and Pavel Zustiak, and in projects with Ben Duke, John Kelly, John Scott, Luca Silvestrini, Jonah Bokaer and Bill T Jones/ Arnie Zane Dance Company.

 

Luke’s own work has been supported by various commissions, awards and residencies internationally including Arts Council of Ireland, Cork City Council, CultureIreland, New England Foundation for the Arts National Dance Project, Kaatsbaan International Dance Centre, Pavilion Theatre, Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Irish Arts Centre, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, DanceLimerick, DanceBase Edinburgh, Tribeca Performing Arts Centre, DanceNow Silo Kirkland Farm, Tanz Tendendz Munich, b12 Berlin and others. He has created and performed nine evening length works throughout Ireland, Germany, UK and USA (Drenched 2012, Icarus 2013, Your Own Man/Mad Notions 2015, On Triumph and Trauma 2016, The Dust We Raised 2017, ExCaelo 2018, The Milkyboy Kid 2018, Carnivore 2019, Villains 2019). Luke founded Attic Projects in 2014 as an umbrella for his various independent projects in dance, film and theatre. Luke is the producer and programming director of The Catch8 Workshop Series in Cork City and is currently working toward the opening of a new dance residency centre in County Cork. 

 

Luke trained at Point Park University where he earned his BFA in Dance and English in 2009 and University of Chichester where he earned an MA in Choreography in 2017.

 

Website: www.atticprojects.com

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Luke Murphy et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans cet atelier.

LUKE MURPHY

Attic Projects

 

Moving Wild

25 au 29 Mai | 10:00 à 13:30 (17.5 hours)

Place: Édifice Wilder | Studio: École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

​Tarif: Membres DAC 165$ | Pro en visite - 188$ | EB - 212$ | Standard - 235$ ​

*Ce stage est remboursable (40% du coût total) par le biais du Programme de soutien à l'entraînement du RQD pour les interprètes membres du RQD admissibles au programme.

Description d'atelier:

Moving Wild 

Bouger par but, bouger par fonction, bouger par désir, bouger pour survivre. Dans cet atelier, nous développerons d’abord des outils pour accéder à notre plein potentiel physique et nous les appliquerons pour atteindre divers buts. Est-ce que le mouvement change avec le but donné ou est-ce seulement l’expérience qui change? En maîtrisant les forces potentielles de la gravité, des élans et des dérives, nous trouverons l’efficacité de notre musculature dans l’effort, et bâtirons des séquences complexes pour déjouer notre équilibre et désorienter nos attentes. Après avoir établi notre potentiel de mouvement le plus large, nous nous pencherons à appliquer nos habiletés nouvelles ainsi que nos anciennes, dans des dimensions physiques, émotionnelles et psychologiques non familières. En utilisant des adaptations du système Stanislavski pour confronter les états physiques et émotionnels, nous examinerons la relation entre le mouvement, le but et le sens pour l’interprète et le public. 

 

Embrassant le processus créatif comme étant une expérience chaotique, vulnérable, fragile, violente, excitante, intime et volatile dans le cadre de l’atelier, nous interrogerons les conflits fondamentaux de l’espace scénique:

  • L’opposition entre l’interprète et le contenu

  • La contradiction entre la conscience de bouger dans l’espace et l'intériorisation requise pour interpréter un personnage

  • Le conflit du son, de l’action et des images 

  • Le désaccord entre l’environnement contrôlé du théâtre et le chaos débridé de la nature humaine

 

L’objectif de l’atelier n’est pas tant l’aboutissement que de se pencher sur les conflits pour trouver des solutions. 

Biographie:

Originaire de Cork City, Luke est un interprète et chorégraphe basé à Cork, New York et Bruxelles. 

 

Luke a dansé à l’international avec Ultima Vez de 2014 à 2018 dans les productions In Spite of Wishing and Wanting, Booty Looting et Spiritual Unity, ainsi qu’avec Punchdrunk depuis 2009, interprétant des rôles principaux dans la distribution originale de Sleep No More à Shanghai (2016-2018), New York (2011-2015), et dans les productions The Drowned Man à Londres et Sleep No More à Boston. Il a par ailleurs dansé dans les compagnies de Martha Clarke, Kate Weare et de Pavel Zustiak, ainsi que dans des projets de Ben Duke, John Kelly, John Scott, Luca Silvestrini, Jonah Bokaer et Bill T Jone/Arnie Zane Dance Company. 

 

Le travail chorégraphique de Luke a attiré diverses commandes et été soutenu par plusieurs prix et résidences internationales incluant le Conseil des arts d’Irlande, Cork City Council, CultureIreland, New England Foundation for the Arts National Dance Project, Kaatsbaan International Dance Centre, Pavilion Theatre, Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Irish Arts Centre, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, DanceLimerick, DanceBase Edinburgh, Tribeca Performing Arts Centre, DanceNow Silo Kirkland Farm, Tanz Tendendz Munich, b12 Berlin, entre autres. Il a créé et interprété 9 pièces complètes en Irlande, Allemagne, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis (Drenched 2012, Icarus 2013, Your Own Man/Mad Notions 2015, On Triumph and Trauma 2016, The Dust We Raised 2017, ExCaelo 2018, The Milkyboy Kid 2018, Carnivore 2019, Villains 2019). Luke a fondé Attic Projects en 2014 pour ses divers projets indépendants en danse, film et théâtre. Luke est le producteur et le directeur de programmation de The Catch8 Workshop Series à Cork City et travaille actuellement à ouvrir un nouveau centre de résidence pour la danse dans le comté de Cork. 

 

Luke a étudié à Point Park University où il a obtenu un BFA en danse et anglais en 2009 et à University of Chichester où il a obtenu un MA en chorégraphie en 2017.

Site web: www.atticprojects.com

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte