Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Louis-Martin Charest's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

LOUIS-MARTIN CHAREST

LIBERAMÆ Performance and Film

Creation and Video Dance laboratory

May 29 to June 2 | 2:30pm to 6:00pm

Place : 1435 rue Bleury | Édifice Wilder: Espace danse  

Studio: École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

DAC pro members : $130.46 + taxes = $150

RQD or visiting professionals : $163.08 + taxes = $188

Standard cost : $217.44 + taxes = $250

*Eligible for the RQD training support reimbursement program

Laboratory Description

Creation and Video Dance laboratory

This creation and video dance laboratory aims to allow participants to experience the choreographic creation, research and filming of a short film. Artists will be introduced to filming techniques so that this knowledge and behaviors can be digested allowing the artist to maximize the impact of his/her expression.  

 

Video dance is a creative art form that differs widely from that of the stage both in proximity with the subjects and the multiple variants of perspective. The choreographer/director envisions a group work which will be filmed exploring various and iconic parts of Montreal. What better way to discover our host city, the lungs of the Canadian dance scene.

 

 

Creative Process Description

     A. Research (the dancer, the space, the camera)

Each day will begin with a short session of technical dance exercises with the camera; games and movement in space, danced for the camera.

Example : The lens focus effects on space, perception of movement in relation to the proximity of the subject and the camera. In studio and with the help of a giant screen, the participants will study the results of these exercises.

 

     B. Creation

Each session will involve a substantial period of choreographic creation. Using an improvisation method which relies on emotions and is led by Louis-Martin, material will be created which could be used for filming.

 

   C. Filming

The remaining 2 days will be dedicated to filming in the designated locations. Come hell or highwater, we will be filming whatever happens! This is a call for warriors!

 

 

Biography

 

Film director, choreographer, editor and dancer Louis-Martin Charest is co-artistic director of LIBERAMÆ performances & films: a dance and film company. Their works include three full evening shows: Liberamæ (2005), Blanche (2008) and My Last Recital (2010), and four short films: Berth (2011), ONDEK (2013), To Build a Home (2014), and The Paper Doll House (2017). Trained in classical ballet, Louis-Martin is a graduate of Canada’s National Ballet School. He first danced for Ottawa Ballet, the National Ballet of Portugal, and Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal. Before founding LIBERAMÆ in 2005, he had already choreographed over 30 works for such companies as BJM Danse, Ottawa Ballet, Ballet Jorgen, Bouchardanse, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens and the National Ballet of Canada’s choreographic workshops. Alongside his dance involvement, for the last fifteen years he has directed promotional materials (Kidd Pivot/Crystal Pite) and edited for television (Discovery Channel/Chasing Monsters). He has taken part in numerous peer committees for the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec and the Canada Council for the Arts. Louis-Martin also teaches ballet as well as improvisation workshops called Presence & Interpretation for Performers.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

LOUIS-MARTIN CHAREST

Laboratoire de création en vidéodanse 

29 mai à 2 juin| 14h30 à 18h00

Lieu: 1435 rue Bleury | Édifice Wilder: Espace danse

Studio: École de danse contemporaine de Montréal et Laboratoire Extérieur

Membres pro DAC : $130.46 + taxes = $150

RQD or professionnels d'etranger : $163.08 + taxes = $188

Tarif (standard) : $217.44 + taxes = $250

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Louis-Martin Charest et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

Description de Laboratoire

Atelier de création en vidéodanse

Cet atelier en vidéo danse vise à faire vivre aux participants la création chorégraphique et le tournage d’un court métrage.  Aujourd’hui, l’interprète se doit de comprendre les technique de la vidéo car une fois ces comportements et ces connaissances assimilés, l’interprète maximisent  l’impact de son expression.  La vidéo danse est une forme qui diffère grandement de la scène par la proximité avec le sujet et les multiples variantes de perspectives. 

Le réalisateur-chorégraphe envisage une oeuvre de groupe qui sera filmée dans différents quartiers iconiques de Montréal.  Quelle merveilleuse façon de découvrir cette ville hôte, poumon de la danse au Canada.  

Processus Créatif

A. Étude (le danseur, l’espace et la caméra)

Toute les rencontres débuterons avec une courte session d'exercices technique de danse à la caméra; jeux et mouvement dans l’espace dansé pour la caméra. 

ex: l’effet des focales de lentilles sur l’espace, la perception du mouvement en lien avec  la proximité du sujet et de la caméra.   

En studio, les participants verront en direct, à l’aide d’un écran géant, les résultats des exercices. 

 

B. Création 

Quotidiennement il y aura une période de création chorégraphique substantielle. Utilisant une méthode d’improvisation s’appuyant sur les émotions, et dirigé par le chorégraphe, le matériel sera créé en vue du tournage.  

 

C. Tournage 

Les deux dernières journées de la semaine seront dédié aux tournages dans les lieux désigné. On tourne quoi qu’il arrive. Appels aux guerriers(ières)!

 

 

Biographie

Réalisateur, chorégraphe, monteur, et danseur:

Le réalisateur et chorégraphe Louis-Martin Charest est le co-directeur artistique de la compagnie LIBERAMÆ performance & films. Formé en ballet classique il a gradué de l'École Nationale de Ballet du Canada. Il débute sa carrière au sein du Ottawa Ballet, puis du Ballet National du Portugal pour atteindre ensuite les rangs des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal. Louis-Martin a chorégraphié,  en parallèle à sa carrière d’interprète, plus de 30 oeuvres au sein de groupe tel BJMdanse, Ottawa Ballet, Ballet Jorgen, Bouchardanse, Les ateliers chorégraphique des Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal et ceux du Ballet National du Canada. En 2005, il fonde LIBERAMÆ performance & films lui permettant de réaliser des oeuvres pour la scène ainsi qu’à l’écran. Les oeuvres se succèdent: Liberamæ (2005), Liberamæ le film (2007), Blanche (2008), Mon dernier récital (2010), BERTH (2011), ONDEK (2013), To Build a Home (2014) et The Paper Doll House (2017). Également, 2017 verra la réalisation du court métrage Port Hope. Louis-Martin enseigne également le ballet classique et des ateliers de Présence et Interprétation:  jeux théâtral et improvisation pour danseurs. 

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte