KRISTINA AND SADÉ ALLEYNE

Dynamics, Rhythm & Texture and Afro-Fusion 

| Workshop

May 29 to June 2 | 9:30am to 1:30pm

Place: Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique |

            2022 Sherbrooke est| Édifice Jean-Pierre-Perreault

Studio: Peter-Boneham

Standard cost : $230.48 + (11.52 TPS + 23 TVQ) = $265

*This workshop is possible thanks to the generous collaboration of Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique

Workshop Description

Dynamics, Rhythm & Texture

This is a physical Contemporary Class, which will involve strong, complex and technical sequences in and out of the floor, focusing on performance/stamina and commitment throughout the session, improvisation will also be explored as part of self development.

 

The significant factors for the workshop are to develop the dancers' creative mind, drive from passion, determination, strength, musicality and most importantly an intention/honesty in whatever choice they make throughout the session.

 

Our style has been inspired and developed from working with the likes of Akram Khan (fusion of Kathak and Contemporary Dance), Retina Dance Company (Release and Contact Work), Gregory Maqoma (Afro-Fusion Dance) and Henri Oguike (Classical Contemporary Dance based on Forsythe and Cunningham techniques).

 

Afro-Fusion; African Dance Fused with Contemporary Styles

This workshop blends several styles of energies to create a unique style of Afro-Fusion. From influences of Zimbabwean, Nigerian and South African traditional forms and Western Dance Styles, it is a fun motivating aerobic dance class syncopating movements to various styles of music.

 

In this class you will develop creative expression, improve mobility, strength, flexibility, coordination and sense of rhythm. The use of isolation of the body, articulation and undulation of the spine will be explored. You will learn phrases based on the exercises developed from the warm up that will challenge and form movement interpretation and accuracy.

 

Music and rhythm is an important aspect of the class. We believe music can inspire the heart and soul.

Our style has been inspired and developed through working with the likes of Gregory Maqoma (Afro-Fusion Dance), Bawren Tavaziva (Zimbabwean choreographer), Vincent Magnetos (Afro-Fusion from Soweto, South Africa), Vocal Dance (London based African, Contemporary, Urban Dance) and Frititi (Founded by Nigerian Nii Tagoe).

Biography

 

Originally trained as athlete’s, Kristina and Sadé Alleyne present Alleyne Dance, an internationally touring, innovative, modern, multi-disciplined dance company based in London. Kristina and Sadé have worked with many companies across the years such as Akram Khan Company (current), Tavaziva Dance, IJAD Dance and Vocab Dance Company,  Ace Dance and Music, State of Emergency, Vincent Mantsoe, Luyanda Sidiya, Akiko Kitamura, Frititi Traditional African Drumming & Dance Ltd, Retina Dance Company, Henri Oguike Dance Company, Helen Parlor, Michael Thomas Voss, Chisato Minamimura.and Gregory Vuyani Maqoma. They have trained in many genres of dance including traditional African dance, Hip Hop, Kathak, Latin and Circus Skills.  Those experiences have helped mould our dynamic, fast, physical dance style and technique. The Company have been involved with, Dance Mission (San Francisco, USA), GLL Sportathon (London, UK), B40 Youth Group, Academy of Performing Arts (London, UK), CAT Schemes (London/ Nottingham/ Birmingham/ Manchester/ Leeds), Dance 4 (Nottingham, UK), Bird College (London, UK), debuting at Fontys Dance Academy (Tilburg, NL), Codarts (Rotterdam, Belgium), In-Love Festival (Toronto, Canada), Deltebre Dansa (Spain) and will be returning to HJS Summer Intensive (Amsterdam, NL) and Impulstanz Festival 2016 (Vienna, Austria).

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

KRISTINA ET SADÉ ALLEYNE

Dynamique, Rythme & Texture et Afro-fusion | Atelier

29 mai au 2 juin| 9h30 à 13h30

Lieu: Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique |

          2022 Sherbrooke est| Édifice Jean-Pierre-Perreault

Studio: Peter-Boneham

Tarif:  $230.48 + (11.52 TPS + 23 TVQ) = $265

*Cet atelier est rendu possible grâce à la collaboration de notre partenaire Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Alleyne Dance et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans cet atelier. 

Description d'Atelier

Dynamique, Rythme et Texture

Cet atelier est une classe de danse contemporaine physique qui implique la force, des séquences complexes et techniques qui passent du sol à la verticale, un bon niveau d’endurance et un engagement constant du début à la fin. C’est également de l’exploration en improvisation afin de nourrir votre développement personnel.

 

Le but ultime de cet atelier est le développement de l’esprit créatif du danseur conduit par la passion, la détermination, la force, la musicalité et le plus important, par une authenticité dans tous les choix qui seront fait.

 

Notre style a été inspiré et développé à partir du travail fait auprès de Akram Khan (fusion du Kathak et de la danse contemporaine), de la compagnie Retina Dance Company (technique “release” et improvisation contact), Gregory Maqoma (danse Afro-Fusion) et Henri Oguike (danse contemporaine classique basée sur les techniques Forsythe et Cunningham)

 

Afro-Fusion: Danse Africaine fusionnée avec le style contemporain

Ce travail combine différents styles d’énergie pour créer un style unique; l’Afro-Fusion. À partir des influences plus traditionnelles du Zimbabwe, du Nigéria et de l’Afrique du Sud ainsi que du style Western, est créé une classe de danse aérobique motivant des mouvements syncopés sur différents styles de musique.

 

Dans cette classe, vous serez amenés à développer votre créativité et à améliorer votre mobilité, votre force, votre flexibilité, votre coordination et votre sens du rythme. Nous allons également explorer l’isolation du corps, l’utilisation des articulations et l’ondulation de la colonne. Vous apprendrez des phrases de mouvements basées sur les exercices développés à partir du réchauffement qui sauront défier et former votre interprétation et votre précision. 

La musique et le rythme sont des aspects importants de la classe. Nous croyons que la musique peut inspirer le coeur et l’esprit. Notre style a été inspiré et développé à partir du travail auprès de Gregory Maqoma (danse Afro-Fusion), Bawren Tavazina (chorégraphe du Zimbabwe), Vincent Magnetos (Afro-Fusion de Soweto en Afrique du Sud), Vocal Dance (compagnie Africaine / Contemporaine /Urbaine basée à Londres) et Frititi (fondée par Nigerian Nii Tagoe)

Biographie

Formées comme athlètes à l’origine, Kristina et Sadé Alleyne présentent Alleyne Dance, une compagnie de danse multidisciplinaire, moderne, innovatrice et de renommée internationale basée à Londres.  Kristina et Sadé ont travaillé avec plusieurs compagnies au fil des années telles que Akram Khan (actuellement), Tavaziva Dance, IJAD Dance et Vocab Dance Company, Ace Dance and Music, State of Emergency, Vincent Mantsoe, Luyanda Sidiya, Akiko Kitamura, Frititi Traditional African Drumming & Dance Ltd, Retina Dance Company, Henri Oguike Dance Company, Helen Parlor, Michael Thomas Voss, Chisato Minamimura et Gregory Vuyani Magoma.  Elles ont reçu une formation en plusieurs styles de danse incluant la danse Africaine, le Hip-hop, le Kathak, les danses Latines et les Arts du Cirque.  Ces expériences ont aidé à façonner leur technique ainsi que leur style de danse dynamique, rapide et très physique.  La Compagnie est impliquée avec Dance Mission (San Francisco, USA),  GLL Sportathon (London, UK), B40 Youth Group, Academy of Performing Arts (London, UK0’ CAT Schemes (London/Nottingham/Birmingham/Manchester/Leeds), Dance 4 (Nottingham, UK), Bird College (London, UK), debuting at Fontys Dance Academy (Tillburg, NL), Codarts (Rotterdam, Belgium), In-Love Festival (Toronto, Canada), Deltebre Dansa (Spain) et retournera au HJS Summer Intensiv (Amsterdam, NL) et à Impulstanz Festival 2017 (Vienna, Austria).

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte