Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into James O'Hara's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

JAMES O'HARA

Manifest (oh)

 

May 28 to June 1 and June 4 to June 8 | 2:00pm to 6:00pm

June 9 - Rehearsal and Closing Presentation

Place: Édifice Wilder | Les Grands Ballets / Les Studios

Studio: TBC

Rate:  DAC pro - $359 | Visiting pro - $407 | Standard - $478 (taxes not incl.)

*Do not register for this laboratory if you cannot attend the entirety of the above mentioned schedule.

Creation laboratory description:

Manifest (oh)

Manifest (oh) is a dance that is informed and abundant with the humanity we share.

 

Patterns and replications of nature, from cellular to galactic, social to animalistic, are within us, around us, between us and a part of us.

 

Yet as humans, artists, members of communities, with intimate and public lives, with opinions and beliefs, socially and politically engaged/disengaged we constantly question…

Who are we? Where? With who? What do we believe in? What do we want?

 

As a collective of individuals, together as one for this Choreolab, our queries into these questions will inform our research, and be collected and unified as movement to create an embodied statement of beliefs.

 

A manifesto, danced.

Biography

 

Originally from Fremantle, Australia, James O’Hara works internationally as a dance performer, teacher, choreographic assistant, and choreographer. A member of Ballet Junior de Genève in 2003 and recipient of a Princess Grace Foundation Bursary at the Monaco Dance Forum in 2004, he has worked with Ballet Preljocaj (France), Matthew Lutton and Chrissie Parrott (Malthouse Melbourne), and Ross McCormack (Muscle Mouth, NZ). As a guest he has performed with Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet/Ohad Naharin, The Australian Ballet/Gideon Obarzanek, The Norwegian National Ballet, The Paris Opera Ballet and at The Bolshoi Theatre for the Benois de la Danse.

 

Since 2006, James has worked extensively with Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui as collaborator and performer, most notably in Faun and Babel, co-created by Damien Jalet. He has been Larbi's choreographic assistant on numerous creations including Orbo Novo (Cedar Lake, New York), Noetic (Gothenburg Opera) and Bolero (Paris Opera Ballet) co-created by Damien Jalet and Marina Abramovic.

 

James works frequently with Marina Mascarell, performing in The Unreality of Time and Like a large animal deep in sleep and was her assistant for Mongrel (Goteborgs Operans Danskompani) and Le diable bat sa femme (Lyon Opera Ballet).

 

Committed to working with young people in dance, he has a close relationship with several youth companies and training institutions throughout the world, including the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts where he recently created The Roaring Silence… alongside Balázs Busa and the National Youth Dance Company of Sadlers Wells, London, where he assisted Michael Keegan Dolan with In Nocentes and Damien Jalet Tarantiseismic. He has taught at Sydney Dance Company, Bangarra Dance Theatre, Akram Khan Company, Purchase New York, Artesis Antwerp, and has a strong relationship with Transformation/Danse à la Carte in Montreal.

 

James has been nominated for a Helpmann award, Green Room award, and Australian Dance Award.

 

Since January 2017, James has been based out of Wellington, New Zealand, where he is a full time tutor at the New Zealand School of Dance.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de James O'Hara et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

JAMES O'HARA

Manifest (oh)

28 mai au 1 juin et du 4 au 8 juin | 14h00 à 18h00

9 juin - Répétition et Présentation

Place: Édifice Wilder | Les Grands Ballets Canadiens

Studio: TBC

Tarif: Pro DAC - 359$ | Pro - 407$ | Standard - 478$ (taxes non-incluses)

*Ne vous inscrivez pas à ce laboratoire si vous ne pouvez pas participer entièrement aux dates mentionnées ci-dessus.

Description du Laboratoire

Manifest (oh)

 

Manifest (oh) est une danse informée et abondante d’humanité que nous partageons.
Les schémas et les reproductions de la nature, du cellulaire au galactique, du social à l'animal, sont en nous, autour de nous, entre nous et en partie en nous.


Pourtant, en tant qu'humains, artistes, membres de communautés, avec une vie intime et publique, avec des opinions et des croyances, socialement et politiquement engagés / désengagés, nous remettons constamment en question ...
Qui sommes nous? Où? Avec qui? En quoi croyons-nous? Que voulons-nous?

 

En tant que collectif d'individus, tous ensemble dans ce laboratoire de création, nos requêtes sur ces questions éclaireront notre recherche et seront rassemblées, unifiées, dans le mouvement pour créer une déclaration.
 

Un manifeste, dansé.

Biographie

Originaire de Fremantle en Australie, James O’Hara oeuvre à travers le monde à titre de danseur, professeur, assistant-chorégraphe et chorégraphe. Ancien membre du Ballet Junior de Genève en 2003 et récipiendaire d'une bourse de la Fondation Princesse Grace en 2004, il a travaillé avec de nombreux chorégraphes tels que Preljocaj (France), Matthew Lutton, Chrissie Parrott (Australie), Ross McCormack (Nouvelle-Zélande). De surcroît, il a performé en tant qu’artiste invité dans plusieurs compagnies comme Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet/Ohad Naharin au American Dance Festival, le Australian Ballet/Gideon Obarzanek au Sydney Opera House, à l’Opéra de Paris, le Norwegian National Ballet, le Bolshoi Theatre de Moscow pour le Benois de la Danse.

 

Depuis 2006, il a énormément travaillé avec Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, en tant que collaborateur et interprète, notamment dans Faun et Babel, co-créé  par Damien Jalet, ainsi que Valtari (un vidéoclip de Sigur Ros réalisé par Christian Larson). Il était aussi l'assistant chorégraphique de Larbi sur d’autre multiples créations dont Orbo Novo (Compagnie Cedar Lake New York), Noetic (Opéra de Göteborg) et Bolero (L’Opéra de Paris) co-créé par Damien Jalet et Marina Abramovic.

 

James travaille à mainte reprise avec Marina Mascarell, se produisant ainsi dans The Unreality of Time ainsi que Like a large animal deep in sleep et fut son assistant pour Mongrel (Opéra Gothenburg) et Le diable bat sa femme (Ballet de l'Opéra de Lyon).

 

Déterminé à travailler avec des jeunes artistes, il entretient des relations étroites avec plusieurs jeunes compagnies et institutions de formation à travers le monde, dont  la West Australian Academy of Performing Arts où il a récemment créé The Roaring Silence… aux côtés de Balázs Busa, et de la National Youth Dance Company of Sadlers Wells où il a aidé Michael Keegan Dolan avec In Nocentes et Damien Jalet avec Tarantiseismic. Il a, de plus, enseigné à la Sydney Dance Company, au Bangarra Dance Theatre, à la compagnie Akram Khan, à Purchase New York, à Artesis Antwerp et entretient de solides relations avec Transformation / Danse à la Carte à Montréal.

James a été nominé pour les prix Helpmann, Green Room et Australian Dance Award.

 

Depuis janvier 2017, James est basé à Wellington, en Nouvelle-Zélande, où il enseigne à plein temps à la New Zealand School of Dance.

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte