FRÉDÉRICK GRAVEL

DLD - Daniel Léveillé Danse // Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup

*Lab cancelled due to the pandemic

To view our refund/donation policies, please follow this button:

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Frédérick Gravel's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

Creation laboratory description:

The workshop’s participants will revisit and remount material from recent works and/or works in progress.  Attention to the moment, a great simplicity in presence and an intense physical engagement are required in this work.  Exercises to awaken athletic presence and concentration in interpretation are on the agenda. Frédérick Gravel’s creations mix precise scores with improvisation in such a way that one approach feeds the other and vice versa.

Biography:

Frédérick Gravel graduated in 2009 from UQAM’s (Université du Québec à Montréal) dance faculty with a thesis on “The role of the dance artist in a democratic society’’. The choreographer, dancer, musician and lighting designer Frédérick Gravel has been active on the Montreal scene for the past fifteen years. He turns the structures of choreography upside down, merging into his work various elements from rock and performance art. He joined DLD as an associate creator in 2010 and was appointed artistic director of the company in 2018.

His productions - Gravel Works (2009), All Hell is Breaking Loose, Honey (2010), Usually Beauty Fails (2012) and This Duet That We’ve Already Done (so many times) (2015), Some Hope for the Bastards (2017) and Fear and Greed (2019) - have received great national and international reviews. He co-created with the author Étienne Lepage Ainsi parlait… (2013) and Logique du pire (2016). In February 2015, he revisited the cabaret style at Usine C, presenting Cabaret Gravel with 20 guest artists, including Dear Criminals and the Molinari Quartet. Always present where least expected, he collaborated with Pierre Lapointe on Mutantès and Amours, délices et orgues (2008).

The works of Frédérick Gravel are created in close collaboration with all members of Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup/GAG, a shifting collective of dancers and musicians actively involved in the creation process. More and more active as a teacher, Frédérick Gravel regularly gives creative workshops as well as teaching at CÉGEP Saint-Hyacinthe’s theater department, at Université du Québec à Montréal and at l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal.

Website : www.danielleveilledanse.org/

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Frédérick Gravel et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

FRÉDÉRICK GRAVEL

DLD - Daniel Léveillé Danse // Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup

 

*Laboratoire annulé à cause de la pandémie

SVP suivez cette lien pour trouver plus d'infos sur notre politique d'annulation et dons.

Description du laboratoire:

Les participant(e)s de l'atelier revisiteront et remettront en scène le matériel de pièces récentes ou en processus de création. Une attention à l'instant, une grande simplicité dans la présence et un engagement physique intense sont nécessaires dans ce travail. Des exercices pour éveiller cette présence athlétique et cette concentration dans l'interprétation seront au programme. Les créations de Frédérick Gravel mélangent l'écriture précise et l'improvisation de façon à ce qu'une approche nourrisse l'autre.

Biographie:

 

Frédérick Gravel est diplômé du Département de danse de l’Université du Québec à Montréal où il déposait, en 2009, son mémoire de maîtrise portant sur « le rôle de l’artiste en danse dans la société démocratique ». Chorégraphe, danseur, musicien, éclairagiste, il bouscule les structures de l’art chorégraphique et y intègre divers éléments liés au rock et à la performance. Créateur associé à la compagnie DLD dès 2010, il en est nommé directeur artistique en 2018.

 

Ses productions Gravel Works (2009), Tout se pète la gueule, chérie (2010), Usually Beauty Fails (2012), This Duet That We’ve Already Done (so many times) (2015) et Some Hope for the Bastards (2017) sont saluées par la critique d’ici et d’ailleurs. Les pièces Ainsi parlait… (2013) et Logique du pire (2016) sont le résultat d’une fructueuse collaboration avec l’auteur Étienne Lepage. En février 2015, il présentait le Cabaret Gravel Cabaret avec une vingtaine d’artistes invités, dont le groupe Dear Criminals et le Quatuor Molinari. Étant toujours là où on ne l’attend pas, il fut également le chorégraphe des spectacles Mutantès et Amours, délices et orgues de Pierre Lapointe (2008).

Assumant une véritable transversalité culturelle et disciplinaire, les productions de Frédérick Gravel sont créées en étroite collaboration avec les membres du Grouped’ArtGravelArtGroup (GAG), un collectif à géométrie variable de danseurs et musiciens. De plus en plus actif comme pédagogue, Frédérick Gravel donne régulièrement des ateliers de création en plus d’enseigner au département de théâtre du CÉGEP de Saint-Hyacinthe, à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et à l’École de danse contemporaine de Montréal.

Frédérick Gravel est membre de Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique.

Website : www.danielleveilledanse.org

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte