Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Kidd Pivot | Éric Beauchesne's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this workshop.

ÉRIC BEAUCHESNE | KIDD PIVOT

Improvisation class and Kidd Pivot repertoire workshop

June 3 to 7 | 9:30am to 1:00pm

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

                             *waiting list only

Rate: DAC members - $179 | Visiting pro - $203 | Standard - $239 (taxes not included)

*This workshop is reimbursable (40% of the total cost) through the RQD Dancer Training Support Program for admissible RQD members.

*Do not register for this workshop if you cannot attend the entirety of the above mentioned schedule.

Workshop description:

Improvisation Class

This improvisation class focuses on investigating and uncovering articulations and timings in the body. In this exploratory and non-performative class, participants will be invited to heighten the awareness of their senses, make inquiries about the spine and their extremities, and to invest their creative mind in a conversation both within their own body and with other partakers. Aiming to give equal opportunities to instinct and intellect this workshop is influenced by mindfulness techniques as well by more than fifteen years of collaboration with choreographer Crystal Pite.

 

Kidd Pivot Repertoire Workshop

This workshop is designed to allow dancers to be initiated to the work and artistry of choreographer Crystal Pite. The session spotlights a specific excerpt which the participants are invited to learn, examine and experience. Focus will be given to many aspects of her dance making such as clarity, articulation, speed, intense physicality, and the idea of being danced.

Biography:

Born in Québec, Eric grew up fishing and hunting before discovering dance at the age of 16. Graduate from École supérieure de danse du Québec, he has been on stage with Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, the Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe and Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, as well as with Canadian contemporary dance icons such as La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perrault, Paul-André Fortier, Louise Lecavalier and Crystal Pite. Company member since 2004, Eric currently collaborates with Kidd Pivot as associate artistic director, and stages Pite’s work on companies worldwide including the National Ballet of Canada, Ballet Zürich, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Ballet British Columbia and, most recently, Göteborgs Operans Danskompani. Eric has served as guest teacher and faculty for several organizations such as Arts Umbrella, TransFormation, Springboard, Seattle Festival of Dance Improvisation and Dutch National Ballet Academy, as well as rehearsal director for Nederlands Dans Theater. He currently resides in Holland and devotes much of his spare time advocating for climate action and sustainable practices in the dance world.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Kidd Pivot Éric Beauchesne et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans cet atelier.

ÉRIC BEAUCHESNE | KIDD PIVOT

Classe d’improvisation | Atelier Répertoire Kidd Pivot

4 au 7 juin | 9h30 à 13h00

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

​                             *liste d'attente seulement

Tarif: Membre DAC - $179 | Visiteur pro - $203 | Standard - $239 (taxes non incluses)

*Ce stage est remboursable (40% du coût total) par le biais du Programme de soutien à l'entraînement du RQD pour les interprètes membres du RQD admissibles au programme.

Description d'atelier:

Classe d’improvisation

Cette classe technique en improvisation focalise le travail du danseur sur la découverte et la révélation du travail articulatoire et séquentiel dans le corps. Lors de cet atelier exploratoire, les participants seront invités à accroître l’éveil de leurs sens, à sonder leur colonne vertébrale ainsi que leurs extrémités, et à investir leur créativité dans un dialogue à la fois dans leur propre corps et avec les autres danseurs. Visant à stimuler la polarité instinct/intellect, cet atelier est influencé par les techniques méditatives ainsi que par plus de quinze ans de collaboration auprès de la chorégraphe Crystal Pite.

 

Atelier répertoire Kidd Pivot

Cet atelier est conçu pour permettre aux danseurs de s’initier au travail et à la sensibilité artistique de la chorégraphe Crystal Pite. La session de travail focalise sur un extrait spécifique que les participants auront l’occasion d’apprendre, d’examiner, et ainsi faire l’expérience de plusieurs aspects essentiels de son travail tels que la clarté, l’articulation, la vitesse, l’intensité physique, le travail avec partenaire et l’idée d’être dansé.

Biographie:

Né au Québec, Eric découvre la danse à l’âge de seize ans. Diplômé de l’École supérieure de danse du Québec, il danse tout d’abord avec Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, le Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe et Les Ballets Jazz de Montréal, puis avec plusieurs icônes de la danse contemporaine canadienne, notamment la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault, Paul-André Fortier, Louise Lecavalier et Crystal Pite. Interprète de la compagnie Kidd Pivot depuis 2004, il exerce actuellement les responsabilités de directeur artistique associé et transmet les œuvres de Crystal Pite auprès de nombreuses compagnies telles que le Ballet National du Canada, Ballett Zürich, Hubbard Street Dance Chicago, Ballet British Columbia et l’Opéra de Göteborg. Eric enseigne régulièrement dans les milieux éducatifs et professionnels dont Arts Umbrella, TransFormation, Springboard, le Seattle Festival of Dance Improvisation et la Dutch National Ballet Academy. En 2013, il rejoint le Nederlands Dans Theater en tant que répétiteur invité et réside, depuis, aux Pays-Bas. Il consacre ses temps libres à̀ militer pour la cause des changements climatiques et pour un développement durable au sein du milieu de la danse.

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte