DAVID ALBERT TOTH & EMILY GUALTIERI 

PARTS + LABOUR_DANSE 

As Allies|Creation Laboratory

May 29 to June 2 and June 5 to June 9 | 2:30PM to 6:00PM

Place: (TBC)

Studio: (TBC)

Cost: $478.36 + ( $23.92 TPS + $47.72TVQ) = $550 week

Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Parts + Labour_Danse's previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

Laboratory Description

As Allies

This lab is a platform for experimentation, discovery, and reaction. By practicing these, we will build something meaningful out of nothing. We will harness simplicity and clarity while working towards an efficient and comprehensive approach to creation. Directed tasks, structured improvisations, and state-based propositions will inform your experience. We will teach material and build specific ideas with you, a process to which you will actively contribute. We encourage you to view this time together as an opportunity to embrace our vision and our methods from the viewpoint of a collaborator. We will generate, you will generate, and we’ll dig together, embracing and using our faults, secrets, and strengths as allies in creation. For those looking to immerse themselves in a voice, there is a place for you here. For those who are looking to channel and develop their own voice, there is a place for you here as well.

Creative Process Description

Working as a pair provides us with the unique opportunity to develop the choreographic direction from two different yet complimentary artistic perspectives. Genuine human connection, affectivity, and interdependence are recurring themes in our work.  The cerebral and visceral are inextricably linked, pushing us to create physically driven work that explores a deeper perception and embodiment of the performer’s humanity. Our collaborators are encouraged to define what this means for them at all times. Our work ultimately stems from a place of deep sensitivity and wonder, a place into which we want to invite our collaborators and our audience, to allow them to deepen parts of themselves through genuine, unabashed self-reflection.

Biography

 

Since being founded in 2011 by co-creators Emily Gualtieri and David Albert-Toth, Montreal-based Parts+Labour_Danse has held the mandate to invest in creating physically engaging experiences. The duo continuously seeks to dive deeper into the formulation, creation, and presentation of contemporary dance works. An underlying interest in transformative states and their effect on the body in movement are presently at the core of their focus. This interest is complimented by a desire to redefine partnerships in different modes of creation. To date, the company has presented its work extensively throughout Canada. Its repertoire includes The Calculated Risk Project (2010), In Mixed Company (2013) (Coup de pouce prize winner, VSLR Festival 2015), La chute (2013), a solo performed by Albert-Toth noted as one of 2013’s top ten Canadian moments in dance by the Dance Current’s Philip Szporer and winner of the Audience Choice Award at Toronto’s Dance: Made In Canada Festival in 2015. They are currently involved in several new creations that will premiere over the next year.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

DAVID ALBERT-TOTH & EMILY GUALTIERI

PARTS+LABOUR_DANSE

Tels des alliés | Laboratoire de Création

29 mai à 2 juin et 5 juin à 9 juin | 14h30 à 18h00

Lieu: (TBC)

Studio: (TBC)

Tarif (standard) : $478.36 + ( $23.92 TPS + $47.72TVQ) = $550

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Parts + Labour_Danse et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

Description de Laboratoire

Tels des alliés

Ce laboratoire est une plateforme pour l’expérimentation, la découverte et la réaction. En pratiquant ces principes, nous allons bâtir quelque chose de significatif à partir de rien. Nous allons exploiter la simplicité et la clarté tout en travaillant pour une approche de création efficace et compréhensible. Votre expérience sera dirigée par des tâches précises, des improvisations structurés et des proposition claires. Nous allons enseigner du matériel définis et nous bâtirons des idées chorégraphiques précises avec vous, un processus auquel vous serez appelés à participer activement. Nous vous encourageons à voir ce temps ensemble comme une opportunité de découvrir notre vision et nos méthodes avec le point de vue d’un collaborateur. Nous allons générer, vous allez générer, et ensemble, en acceptant et en utilisant nos erreurs, nos secrets, et nos forces tels des alliés, nous allons créer. Pour ceux qui cherchent à s’immerger dans une voie chorégraphique, il y a une place pour vous ici. Et pour ceux qui cherchent à développer leur propre voie, il y a une place pour vous aussi!

Processus Créatif

Travailler en tandem nous permet une opportunité unique de développer une direction chorégraphique à partir de deux perspectives différentes, mais complémentaires. Les connections humaines authentiques, l’affectivité et l’interdépendance sont des thèmes récurrents dans notre travail. Le cérébral et le viscéral sont intimement liés, nous poussant à créer un matériau physique qui explore une perception profonde et une incarnation de l’humanité du danseur.  Nos collaborateurs nous encouragent à définir ce que cela signifie pour eux à tout instant. Ultimement, notre travail est né d’une sensibilités profonde et d’un émerveillement, un espace dans lequel nous désirons inviter nos collaborateurs et notre public à se permettre d’approfondir des parties d’eux-mêmes à travers une auto-réflexion authentique et honnête. 

 

Biographie

Fondée en 2011 par les co-créateurs Emily Gualtieri et David Albert-Toth, la compagnie montréalaise Parts+Labour_Danse a pour mandat de créer des expériences physiquement engageantes. Ce duo cherche constamment à plonger plus profondément dans la formulation, la création et la présentation d’œuvres chorégraphiques contemporaines. Un intérêt sous-jacent pour les états transformateurs et leurs effets sur le corps en mouvement est au cœur de leur travail, accompagné d’un désir de redéfinir les partenariats dans divers modes de création. À date, la compagnie s’est produite à travers le Canada. Son répertoire inclus The Calculated Risk Project (2010), In Mixed Company (2013) (Gagnant du prix Coup de pouce, festival VSLR 2015), et le solo La chute (2013), interprété par Albert-Toth, qui a été sélectionné par Philip Szporer du Dance Current comme l’un des moments en danse les plus marquants de 2013 et gagnant du Prix du publique du festival Dance : Made in Canada en 2015. La compagnie est actuellement en création de plusieurs nouvelles œuvres qui seront diffusées au cours de la prochaine année.

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte