Please note that the video and photographic materials are for insight into Dana Gingras' previous works and do not demonstrate what will be explored in this creation laboratory.

Animals Of Distinction

DANA GINGRAS

Borders, Bodies and Territories

 

May 28 to June 1 | 2:00pm to 6:00pm

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

Rate:  DAC pro - $179 | Visiting pro - $203 | Standard - $239 (taxes not included)

*Do not register for this laboratory if you cannot attend the entirety of the above mentioned schedule.

Creation laboratory description:

Borders, Bodies and Territories

 

This choreographic laboratory will investigate the universal themes and questions around borders. In particular, the performers will explore the ways in which borders are physical representations of liminality—thresholds between states and territories. My choreographic process is initiated by proposing a series of improvisational tasks that evolve into movement scores that are generative like a series of algorithms. I am interested in creating an ensemble in which the performers have agency and are able to test and play with non prescribed ways of moving and interacting.

Biography

 

Dana Gingras is a choreographer, film-maker, performer and teacher. Her 25 year career has moved across mediums and artistic practices and has established her as a game-changing, boundary-pushing artist. Gingras is drawn to amplifying the sense of physical possibility, what bodies are capable of and allowing that to become manifold and present in the most innovative fashion possible.

 

In 1993, she co-founded The Holy Body Tattoo. The company changed the landscape of Canadian dance, earning numerous awards and honours for its stage and film work. She went on to form Animals of Distinction (AoD) in 2006 as a type of framework for contemporary practice, as a point of intersection where the social kinaesthetic, and the possibilities of physical thinking can be visualized in choreographic ideas with different collaborations and with other art forms.

 

The work of AoD has been presented nationally and internationally across many different platforms including live performance, film, design, visual art and new media. In 2016 under the direction of Gingras, AoD produced The Holy Body Tattoo’s last work Monumental (2005), this time with Godspeed You! Black Emperor playing live. The work has toured to many of the major festivals in the world including Push Festival, Adelaide Festival, Luminato Festival, The Next Wave Festival at BAM,  ROMAEUROPA in Italy and the Mona Foma festival in Tasmania.

 

Most recently Dana Gingras/Animals of Distinction was granted the long term residency at the CCOV (Le Centre de Création O Vertigo) at Montreal’s Place des Arts and through this will produce a new large scale work that will premiere in 2019. Dana is an associate dance artist of Canada’s National Arts Centre.
 

Dana Gingras is a dance artist whose 20 years of work have established her as a game-changing choreographer and performer. In 1993, Dana co-founded the Holy Body tattoo with Noam Gagnon. The company won numerous awards and honours for its stage and film work, such as our brief eternity (Dora Mavor Moore award for Best Ensemble Performance) and Circa (Rio Tinto Alcan Performing arts award). Dana has collaborated with such artists as writer William Gibson, director William Morrison, musicians The Tiger Lillies and The Tindersticks, animators James Paterson and Amit Pitaru, designer Steven R. Gilmore, and most recently Arcade Fire. Dana is an associate Dance artist of Canada’s National Arts Centre.

Follow us

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte

Veuillez noter que les vidéos et les photos ci-dessus sont un aperçu du travail de Dana Gingras et ne démontrent pas ce qui sera exploré dans ce laboratoire de création. 

Animals of Distinction

DANA GINGRAS

Frontières, Corps et Territoires

28 mai au 1 juin | 14h00 à 18h00

Place: Édifice Wilder | École de danse contemporaine de Montréal

Studio: TBC

Tarif: Pro DAC - 179$ | Pro - 203$ | Standard - 239$ (taxes non-incluses)

*Ne vous inscrivez pas à ce laboratoire si vous ne pouvez pas participer entièrement aux dates mentionnées ci-dessus.

Description de Laboratoire

Frontières, Corps et Territoires


Ce laboratoire de création investiguera les thèmes et les questions universelles autours des frontières. En particulier, les artistes exploreront les manières dont les frontières peuvent être des représentations physiques de liminalité - seuils entre les états et les territoires. Le processus chorégraphique de Dana sera initié en proposant une série de tâches d'improvisation qui évolueront en partitions de mouvement et généreront une sorte de série d'algorithmes. Dana est captivée par la création d'ensemble dans lequel les interprètes ont un pouvoir, les autorisant à tester et à jouer avec différents moyens pour se mouvoir et interagir librement.

 

Biographie

Dana Gingras est une chorégraphe, cinéaste, interprète et professeur. Sa carrière de 25 ans a évolué à travers de nombreux médiums et de pratiques artistiques, et a fait d’elle une artiste novatrice et influente. Gingras est attirée par l’amplification des possibilités physiques, par les capacités du corps, et pour permettre ceci d’être présent de la manière la plus innovante possible.

 

En 1993, elle a co-fondé the Holy Body tattoo avec Noam Gagnon. Depuis, la compagnie a changé le paysage de la danse canadienne et a reçu un grand nombre de prix, de distinctions pour la qualité de ses chorégraphies, de ses films notamment pour our brief eternity (prix Dora Mavor Moore de la meilleure chorégraphie d’ensemble) et Circa (prix Rio Tinto Alcan pour les arts de la scène). En 2006, elle a poursuit en créant Animals of Distinction comme un cadre pour la pratique de la danse contemporaine. C’est un point d’intersection où la kinesthésie sociale et les possibilités de la pensée physique peuvent être visualisées dans des idées chorégraphiques avec différentes collaborations et plusieurs autres formes d’art.

 

Le travail de AoD a été diffusé à l'échelle nationale ainsi qu'internationale à travers de nombreuses plateformes différentes tels que le cinéma, le design, la performance en direct, les arts visuels et les nouveaux médias En 2016, sous la direction de Gingras, AoD a produit sa dernière œuvre de The Holy Body Tattoo, Monumental (2005), cette fois avec Godspeed You! Black Emperor jouant en direct. L'œuvre a été présentée dans de nombreux festivals majeurs dans le monde, notamment le Festival Push, le Festival d'Adélaïde, le Festival Luminato, le Festival Next Wave au Brooklyn Academy of Music, ROMAEUROPA en Italie et le festival MONA FOMA à Tasmania.

 

Plus récemment, Dana Gingras a obtenu la résidence de longue durée au Centre de Création O’Vertigo à la Place des Arts de Montréal, qui donnera lieu, en 2019 à la création d’une nouvelle œuvre à grande échelle. Dana est aussi une artiste associée de la Danse au Centre national des Arts du Canada.

Suivez-nous

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

​© 2019 Danse à la Carte